Denver Arts & Venues announced the executive team and four working groups of community, business and arts leaders appointed by Mayor Michael B. Hancock to advance work on The Next Stage, the recently revealed vision plan for the Denver Performing Arts Complex.

The Funding and Governance group – FunGov – as a whole, is tasked with delivering recommendations to the mayor by the end of the year in areas dealing with public-private partnerships, financing, governance and policy, and partnership and sponsorship options. The group will first convene in April.

“This is an exciting next step in transforming the arts complex into a facility that will showcase Denver as an arts leader for the 21st century,” Hancock said. “We appreciate the thought, creativity and effort that is being asked of these committees, and thank the members for committing to help make this bold vision a reality.”

FunGov will be acting on the vision plan proposed by a 30-member executive leadership team in a report delivered to the mayor last month. The plans call for a new music hall, commercial development, a potential new home for the Denver School of the Arts, rehearsal and recording space and enhanced retail, parking and dining options.

Committee members appointed by Hancock include:

Executive Team – Diane Barrett, Councilman Albus Brooks, Brad Buchanan, Cristal DeHerrera, Tom Gougeon, Brendan Hanlon, Tykus Holloway, Kent Rice, Jenny Schiavone, Marilee Utter, Ginger White Brunetti.  

Governance and Policy Working Group – Councilman Albus Brooks, Noah Cecil, CJ Chapman, Nolbert Chavez, Cristal DeHerrera, David Ehrlich, Kwali Farbes, Jack Finlaw, Scott Gilmore, Amy Hansen, Cy Harvey, Mark Najarian, Dan Slattery, Gary Steuer.

Partnerships and Sponsorship Working Group – Katina Banks, Tami Door, Brian Kitts, Elysa Marden, Yolanda Ortega, Gloria Rubio-Cortes, Richard Scharf, Jenny Schiavone, Scott Shiller, Tim Shultz, Doug Smooke, Maren Stewart.

Finance Working Group – Allen Balczarek, George Delaney, Frank Delmonte, Patty Fontneau, Patty Gage, Brendan Hanlon, Mark Heller, Tracy Huggins, Mike Johnson, Andrew Johnston, Jon Moellenberg, Trini Rodriguez.

Site Leveraging Working Group – Laura Aldrete, Bruce Alexander, Ivan Anaya, Brad Buchanan, Chris Coble, Chris Crosby, Brad Dodson, Mark Falcone, Kenneth Ho, Tykus Holloway, Grant McCargo, Maja Rosenquist, John Shaw, Jeff Steinberg.

Periodic public updates will be offered to the community throughout the FunGov process. Residents can find more information at